UKC

High speed wobble!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 ablackett 23 May 2012
I am fairly new to road biking, having done a couple of hundred miles over the last 6 months.

I have just got back from a ride and had a major wobble going at 47mph and would like to understand why.

The road was straight and steep, I was down on the drops and looking forward, there wasn't much wind. I don't know what order all this happened in but I remember thinking "i'm going pretty quick, better slow down, reaching for the rear break, getting a major wobble left to right a few times, slowing down and the wobble stopping. I don't know if the wobble was before or after I hit the breaks, but it lasted long enough for me to consider and think through the consequences of hitting the road at the speed I was at. I would guess a long stay in hospital, skin grafts, etc?

What caused the wobble?

Gripping too tightly? Adjusting my balance as I went for the break? Applying the break? Poor bike set up? Any other ideas?

I am pretty keen for this not to happen again!

Thanks for any thoughts.

Andyu
bullandbladder 23 May 2012
In reply to ablackett: More weight going to one side as you brake? Are you applying both brakes at once? Try tucking in a little lower and getting your hands further into the curve of the drops?

I just installed some spacers on my brake levers to reduce the reach, so I don't have to stretch quite as far to grab a handful.

I got a bit of the same thing last night at 40+mph, but at the time I was moving one hand to the brake hood, thus unbalancing the front end.
OP ablackett 23 May 2012
In reply to bullandbladder: I was scared to stick on the front break at that speed - would it be ok or would I go over the top/loose the back end?

Too much weight on the right as I reached for the left break could be the cause.

Thanks.
In reply to ablackett: