UKC

new to climbing... HELP

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 leehawkins 01 Jun 2012
hi. im new to climbing and have been bouldering at a local climbing center for the last 2 months. i have purchased a harness and belay device and would like to learn how to belay and start climbing. is there anyone who climbs in the south wales area who could offer some knowledge.

kind regards
lee
In reply to leehawkins: unfortunately I live in North Wales otherwise I'd have happily taken you out to do some real climbing! try at your local indoor wall or search the BMC's website for clubs in your area.
OP leehawkins 01 Jun 2012
In reply to leehawkins: thanks, i was in north wales 3 weeks ago walking snowdon at 2am was lovely lol
 AdCo82 01 Jun 2012
In reply to leehawkins:

does your local wall not do a course??

check on mlte for providers.......

AT
In reply to leehawkins: That's the best time to walk it - no crowds! If you're up here again, drop me an email higher(dot)climbing(at)gmail(dot)com
In reply to leehawkins: not sure where the local climbing centre with the walls are as ive only been to a bouldering centre, trying to find info on google
 colina 01 Jun 2012
In reply to leehawkins: frequentyly you get climbers training to be instructers who can take you out for free (or maybe some petrol money) as they need trainees to teach.you can be sure you will get excellent instruction as the techniques they show you will be assesed by experts..there was a post on here a couple of days ago (mia),may be of use to you
 AdCo82 01 Jun 2012
In reply to leehawkins: you will be able to search on UKC for your nearest wall.....
 AdCo82 01 Jun 2012
In reply to leehawkins:

click on Classifieds above.....you can search for loads there!!!

In reply to leehawkins: thanks. i found 2 instructors near my location and have emailed 1 of them as i know the other one through a friend and wants £40 for a hour of tuition