UKC

First Bouldering shoe???

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
bigbadsquare 13 Jun 2012
Just recently got into indoor bouldering, rent shoes at the moment. im looking for advice on an allround shoe that will still be ok as i hopefully improve. they are not cheap as you know so need as much advice as possible. Cant afford to waste the £££££'s
In reply to bigbadsquare: Get the one that fits the best.
 bouldery bits 13 Jun 2012
In reply to Dangerous Dave 123:
> (In reply to bigbadsquare) Get the one that fits the best.

Dave is right!

find something comfy and cheap.
As a beginner I trashed loads of shoes from poor footwork. Like first cars, cheap is best.
 Fluvial 13 Jun 2012
In reply to bigbadsquare:

Agreed - A couple I've had that were comfy and the fit was good (For me) were Evolv Defy and Scarpa Vantage - both well priced and good starter to intermediate shoe
bigbadsquare 14 Jun 2012
In reply to bouldery bits:

What do you call cheap??? No shoes ive seen i would consider cheap, do you mean the £65.00 ish pairs? or are their cheaper pairs about that ive not seen anywhere.

BBS

Durbs 14 Jun 2012

As everyone else has said - cheap (Less than £80? £70?) and comfy.

Your first pair will be trashed by dragging your toe over everything, poor edging and general sloppy-ness.
Whilst there is an argument that performance shoes will teach you better footwork, I'd say the flip-side would be entry-level shoes will force you to think about your feet more.

You won't want anything super-aggressive, but could probably get away with pretty-tight velcro/slipper versions as you can take them off between attempts.
 Eagle River 14 Jun 2012

Basically the first pair of shoes you get you'll most likely wear through pretty quickly as most people, when starting out, have poor footwork. So there's no reason to look at any of the high end performance shoes that are currently around £100.