UKC

Anyone with experience of Orange Gyro 29er?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 David Hooper 25 Jun 2012
Had a quick play on one in thLBS carpark the other day and first impressions were verypositive.

Does anyone have reasonable riding experience of this machine or similar as they are fairly new on the market.

Cheers

David
 balmybaldwin 25 Jun 2012
In reply to David Hooper:

I would say have a look at the head angle, many 29rs suffer from sluggish steering on twisty single track, but this can be corrected with a degree or 2 more angle on the head (i.e. 71-72 degrees). Trek and Cannondale certainly have this issue sorted out on their new 29rs and it makes a big difference. I have no experience of the Orange you mention.
OP David Hooper 25 Jun 2012
In reply to balmybaldwin: cheers for that,orange are good at posting techy specs and angles on their site,I will pop over and check.
In reply to balmybaldwin: 69.5 - so what would that mean in layman's terms?

I'm demoing a 5 and a Gyro back to back anyway,so the results should be interesting.
 neil the weak 25 Jun 2012
In reply to David Hooper: It means it is fairly slack for a short travel 29er, so a bike pitched more at being fun than an ultra efficeint climber. In geo terms, it is pretty much just a 29er version of a five, which is another great bike if the descent is the bit you want it to be best at. Chewie from Glen Tress spent a few days on one recently when he was shopping for his new bike (there's a nice video of him riding it on the alpine bikes vimeo account). He liked it a lot and remarked that if he had just wanted a trail centre type bike he might well have bought one, but he went with a Santa Cruz Blur Trc in the end feling it would handle tight DH riding (which he does quite a bit of too) a bit better I think.