UKC

Causey Quarry Theft

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 dakidunn 02 Jul 2012
Hello all,
Just a gentle warning about climbing at Causey Quarry near Stanley, County Durham. We were on our SPA course last weekend and whilst rigging some static ropes at the top of the crag, one of our party's entire rack, rucksack and rope bag were stolen from the bottom of the crag by a 'passer by'. Hundreds of pounds worth of gear, which probably won't be insured.
There were about six of us there and several bags left at the bottom of the crag. It may be an idea if anyone climbs there to have someone stay at the base at all times just to look after their group's kit.
I am in my second year of outdoor climbing and was really saddened to experience this behaviour. We normally climb at 'climbers only' crags where there are not too many public passers by, and I think it would put me off climbing there agian. I hope this is an isolated incident and no one else has had anything taken from here or anywhere else.
Best wishes
Mark
 Indy 02 Jul 2012
In reply to dakidunn:

Having had an expensive phone stolen recently all I can say is that these thieves are just plain scum.

Police are just as useless as well.

sorry for the early morning rant!
 EZ 02 Jul 2012
In reply to dakidunn:

Thankfully one of our party fell off a green hold and battered his ankle at Stanage yesterday, so when we hobbled off due to rain and went to Black Rocks for a couple of routes, as the local chav's (they actually do wear trackies tucked in socks with big fake gold and silver chains etc) started to show up, our injured mate was able to sit with the bags to make them look owned! He wouldn't have been able to do anything about it if they had tried to rob but hey. All I can say is thanks Ducan! for falling off mate

He is fine by the way and should be able to go to Spain later this week with a working(ish) ankle for some sunny sport
 Sir Chasm 02 Jul 2012