UKC

hope xc help

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 itsThere 09 Jul 2012
so i have some hope xc hubs, and my rear is almost dead. i put new bearings in but since it takes so much force they got damaged in the process, i also didnt put them in the freezer. there is also some damaged spokes and a ding in the rim. so i gave up and took it to my LBS. they think i need a new wheel. seems a bit of a waste of a hub to me. plus im a student and dont want to pay £200 for a equivilent wheel. re-build or cheap shimano wheel?
 muppetfilter 09 Jul 2012
In reply to Anonymous: Freezing bearings shrinks them making them easier to fit.
 ross 09 Jul 2012
In reply to itsThere: Hiya, I'd stick with what you've got. You can live with a ding in the rim and replacing a few spokes is easy. You can get the bearings cheaper from a bearing shop rather than a bike shop. They won't get damaged if you put them in with the correct drift, I think you only need one size for an xc.
I live in Perth. In the unlikely event you're near, you can borrow my drifts and I can give you some spokes too.
Good Luck! Ross.
OP itsThere 10 Jul 2012
In reply to ross: how can you tell if the bearings are in the correct place, one of the problems i have is that the wheel now wont go back on the bike. i didnt know how far to push them in. i was using a 20ton press and it didnt sound happy pushing them in. i could use a ruler or a caliper but i dont think it would be enough since only 2mm out and the wheels wont go back on.
johnj 10 Jul 2012
In reply to itsThere:

The bearings in these hubs push in up-to the relevant shoulders, you shouldn't need to use anything like a 20 ton press, using a little thought you can easily drift them in and out with sockets, a few bit of woods and a small hammer. The hope service kit makes it easier mind.