UKC

Bouldering shoes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
DAVE_BRAIN 09 Jul 2012
I've been climbing for about 4 - 5 months, pretty much 2-4 times a week, slightly addicted.

I mostly climb indoors on either concrete or plastic and have ran a pair of boreal Velcro jokers pretty much into an early grave, they have a month or so left in them at this rate of climbing.

So I'm interested in getting a more aggressive shoe, I think I'm climbing around v6-v8, it's hard to tell what rating the climbs have but I know I want a tighter toe for the real small holds. So I just don't know which shoe to try, I like the sounds of evolvs pontas, I hear the shamans are chunky and I'm interested in boreals kintaros because I like the jokers so much, I've got about £100 so most shoes are in the running. I appreciate each foot is different and each climber has there own views but I'm the most experienced climber that I climb with and was wanting some seasoned views on the matter.
 Madden 09 Jul 2012
In reply to Jamiejoseffry: Not to sound nit-picky, but I don't climb V8 yet, and I've been climbing nearly 3 years. Only just hit V6. Maybe your wall grades them softly, or you're just a prodigy, but either way... Sounds dubious.

With regards to shoes though, Scarpa Instinct or Vapour V's are excellent on overhangs and small holds. They will stretch, as they're leather.

5.10 Anasazi VS are some of the best edging/smearing shoes I've ever come across. As far as I can tell, the north east bouldering scene as a whole swears by them. I know I do, they're great all rounders. Will fit a narrower foot than the Scarpas, and won't stretch as much.

Basically, find a shoe that fits you well from the offset. If the shape is right, but it has to be painfully tight to not be baggy, then maybe buy those as a third pair, so you have a comfier pair to wear as you stretch the tight ones in. And remember that synthetic shoes won't stretch as much as leather etc...