UKC

First-timer advice for Swanage

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 RyMole 01 Aug 2012
I'm new to climbing in the South of England. I have a Dorset guidebook and have been eyeballing Subluminal.

I'd appreciate advice to prevent me making any fox-passes.

So apparently all of the routes finish on belay stakes. What can I expect to see and do when I work my way to the top of a route? Are we talking essentially a fence post in the ground to throw a sling over?

I presume you top out all the routes then ab back down?

Gear? - a full set of nuts, #9 rockcentric, 3 mid-size tricams, #1 dragon cam, 00 master cam, a few slings - planning on taking a partner who is new to trad and will be doing the easy routes.

General etiquette, does it get crowded on the ledge? Do you bring your kit/snack bag down or stash it above somewhere?

Any advice is welcome and appreciated, remember- the more advice you give, the less I'll get in your way!
 tehmarks 01 Aug 2012
In reply to RyMole:

The belay stakes are metal posts driven into the ground, onto which you can clove hitch a sling (I would clove hitch rather than just sling it, to stop the sling riding off) and belay from. Top out to your belay stake (which may involve some highly entertaining grass scrambling at some venues, but at least not at Subluminal as it finishes at a big ledge), and ab back down. I'd personally leave your ab rope in place for the duration if you can spare a rope, otherwise you're committed to climbing out (which isn't too bad at Subluminal as there are several easy routes out, but it is an extra worry you don't need).
 Hooo 01 Aug 2012
In reply to RyMole: