UKC

Would you accept this contract?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Phil Payne 19 Sep 2012
I've been a contractor for a few years now but have just been for my first interview in a long time for a permanent position.

Today I got offered the job and received the contract to sign, but I have a few worries about some of the clauses in the contract and was wondering if these are considered normal and it's me that's lost touch with what is normally in a contract these days.

Here are the bits that concern me and there's quite a few of them as well as a few more that I haven't copied from the contract:

Our normal hours of work are from 08.30 to 17.30 Monday through to Friday (40 hours per week), with a 60 minute lunch break. However, due to the nature of the business which we are supporting, you must be prepared to work shift duties and additional hours when requested by the Company, without additional remuneration, in order to meet the requirements of the business and to ensure the proper performance of your duties. For the avoidance of doubt this may include Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays.

You are required to complete a probationary period of 12 months duration from the commencement date (‘the probation period’). If during the probationary period the company is dissatisfied with your performance or conduct, your employment may be terminated by the Company giving you the statutory notice period or payment in lieu thereof.