UKC

TdF 2013

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Mike Stretford 24 Oct 2012
Details of the route

http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2012/oct/24/tour-de-france-centenary-route

My fimpression is that this route will suit Froome, but I'm no expert. What do the aficianados think?
 lummox 24 Oct 2012
In reply to Papillon: Looks like a great final week ! Battle with Contador on the slopes of D'Huez ?
fxceltic 24 Oct 2012
In reply to Papillon: it is set for a battle between AC and Froomedog by the look of the brief details given.

Depends a lot on the details and in particular the team time trial in Nice could be important, depending on its length. You would expect Sky to make time on SaxoTinkoff Bank.
on the ITTs the length of the 2nd is given and its not that long, we arent told the length of the 1st, but I'd expect Froome to take some time on AC in both, but probably not much.

The final week does appear to be pretty brutal, but again, those details are a bit vague. 2 ascents of the alpe in a single stage sounds appalling but it depends on what precedes those climbs on the day since the alpe is usually at the end of a big mountain day anyway, having already crossed several major cols to get there.

As ever, form will decide who wins.
 Enty 24 Oct 2012
In reply to Papillon:

Map here:

http://www.cycloblog.fr/index.php?post%2F2012%2F10%2F24%2FParcours-du-Tour-...

The 100% official stuff should be online before lunch.

E
 Gasmerchant 24 Oct 2012
More to the point which UKC'ers are going to be doing the Etape?
 ripper 24 Oct 2012
In reply to Papillon: I would so love to see a clean Froome spank Contador - the ideal of AC being pre-race favourite is a bit depressing...
 yorkshireman 24 Oct 2012
In reply to Gasmerchant:
> More to the point which UKC'ers are going to be doing the Etape?

Am eager to find out how close it will be to me, but I'm getting ready to enter again (did Acte 1 this year)

Radioactiveman 24 Oct 2012
In reply to Papillon: