UKC

Best of Himalaya in August ?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 sarahjk 28 Oct 2012
I am dreaming of a trip to the Himalaya, after nearly 20 years, for a spot of trekking and exploring.

As a Teacher I am limited in when I can go, and know that August is a bit early for Nepal. I havent done much trekking in India/Pakistan so would love to hear recommendations for a 2-3 week trip, maybe with a low peak, independent or with a group. Would love to see some culture, wildlife and local events, not just hiking in high barren valleys.

And if anyone else wants to do similar, do get in touch, either 2013 or more likely 2014.

Gotta dream !
 Al Evans 28 Oct 2012
In reply to sarahkeast: Dangerous time, either still in or just after the monsoon, lots of avalanche risk.
OP sarahjk 28 Oct 2012
In reply to Al Evans: Even that much further west ?
 Robert Durran 28 Oct 2012
In reply to sarahkeast:

Ladakh should tick all your boxes.
 Dauphin 28 Oct 2012
In reply to sarahkeast:

High Tibetan plateau should be okay that time of year - think Ladakh/Spiti. Be a nightmare to get to unless you are flying in though, probable flooding and landslide, heat and humidity.

D
 seankenny 28 Oct 2012
In reply to sarahkeast:

Second Ladakh, I was there a few summers ago and it's excellent. Very easy to organise trips and so on, but fairly wild spots too.

I also did a trip up to Annapurna base camp at Xmas/New Year, which could be an option if you want to go to Nepal. It's easier and lusher than India or Pakistan.
OP sarahjk 28 Oct 2012
In reply to seankenny: Thanks Sean and Robert, would love to go back to Pokara and Annapurna, but only get a week at Christmas.

Will look into Ladakh some more.
 Duncan Bourne 28 Oct 2012
In reply to sarahkeast:
Monsoon trekking is great it doesn't rain all the time, usually once a day for a few hours. Points to remember: