UKC

Budget waterproof jackets...?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
OneLifeOneHeart 28 Oct 2012
I am very new to climbing (did only two days so far) and did a tour of various shops to find that I am not yet really able to afford the good jackets out there (in the GBP 250-400 range), not at this stage of my life where I just started earning my own money.

I kinda discussed with the store staff who explained in detail everything about climbing jacket (shell material, articulated armes/sleeves, abrasion-resistant, harness ergonomic etc), but still, I was wondering whether I should make a one-off good investment in a jacket that I will use forever, or spend less now, see how far and how often I will actually climb (am not 100% sure I will continue outdoor climbing, and may instead develop indoor which is more affordable for now).

Are there any brands or even non-brands you know of that have climbing jackets in the GBP 100-150 range?

And if I really must spend more than that, are there good jackets which I could use also in everyday life (in case I will not continue climbing so much)?

I would really appreciate your insights. I really like this activity, but am realizing it is slightly expensive for me.
 Blizzard 28 Oct 2012
In reply to OneLifeOneHeart:

Ta. Im just venting. I'm sure I'll be out on the hill this winter. Look out for my winter climbing partner posts. Happy to climb grade IV
 CharlieMack 28 Oct 2012

What kind of climbing are you looking to be doing in your jacket? Winter, alpine? If it's for trad etc, then you don't want to be going out when it's raining obviously!

Karrimor have brought out a new range of jackets that look really promising, that start at £89.99 for an eVent jacket, which is outstanding value!!