UKC

any surveyors on here?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 3leggeddog 31 Oct 2012
A quick question to help me out in a difficult situation.

If you were to value a property for sale ie an asking price and then were to give the same property a market value for valuation of an estate (probate, divorce etc). What would the difference between the two figures be as a %.

Feel free to pm your response if you don't want to go public.

Thanks in advance
In reply to 3leggeddog:

Im not surveyor but having been through this recently, it all seems a bit of a lottery. When you are faced with a divoced settlement or probate, the valuation seems to be geared more towards the quick sales price rather than the market value.
 Trangia 31 Oct 2012
In reply to 3leggeddog:

I am a retired Chartered Surveyor

A suggested asking price is not a formal valuation, but a suggested figure with which to "test" the market.

For most valuations Market Value is used and as a general rule this will be the same regardless of the purpose of the valuation. A formal valuation should set out the basis on which the Valuation is made

The RICS define Market Value as:-

MARKET VALUE
"The estimated amount for which a property should exchange on the date of valuation between a willing buyer and a willing seller in an arm’s-length transaction after proper marketing wherein the parties had each acted knowledgeably, prudently and without compulsion."
OP 3leggeddog 31 Oct 2012
In reply to Trangia:

Thanks for that, very helpful. In a given market there is always a typical variation between asking price and selling price. I suppose that is the question I am asking. Any ideas where I might find such data
 Trangia 31 Oct 2012
In reply to 3leggeddog:

There is no hard and fast rule and so far as I know no published data. Asking prices can be notoriously optimistic and surveyors tend to take very little, if any, notice of them!