UKC

Learning French

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
deleted user 09 Nov 2012
I have started to learn french, has anyone got any tips for a absolute beginner, so far I am just listening to very basic lessons over and over again.. If anyone has any good tips, it would be appreciated.
Tim Chappell 09 Nov 2012
In reply to samsimpson:

Uhmmm... Visiter la France??
Daithi O Murchu 09 Nov 2012
In reply to samsimpson:

Michel Thomas CDs

are available via peer to peer file sharing technology
Tim Chappell 09 Nov 2012
In reply to samsimpson:

Acheter et voir des films francais. Il y en a quelques, on m'a dit.

<desole qu'on ne trouve pas ici d' accents..>
cap'nChino 09 Nov 2012
In reply to Daithi O Murchu:
> (In reply to samsimpson)
>
> Michel Thomas CDs
>
> are available via peer to peer file sharing technology

+1
>
> Michel Thomas CDs
>

+2
 yorkshireman 09 Nov 2012
>
> Michel Thomas CDs
>

Or here's a crazy idea. You could buy them?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/French-Michel-Thomas-Method-Series/dp/1444133012/re...

I can vouch for MT, they're great for listening to in the car and give you a good grounding, but you'll need to get as much variety as possible once you get the basics.

Try the Coffee Break French podcasts, there are dozens (if not hundreds) of them now, lasting 5-10 minutes so nice and easy to get into and listen on your iPod regularly. There's premium material if you subscribe but the free stuff is great.
KevinD 09 Nov 2012
In reply to samsimpson:

SPEAK ENGLISH LOUD AND SLOW.
works for any language.
 Ed Navigante 09 Nov 2012
In reply to samsimpson:

I am usually fine with language rules but cannot do vocabulary, so:

-write each word out large in french on a piece of card
-cut it out
-write the english on the back
-blutack it french side up on your wall
-have a HUGE wall full of words
-every time you walk past, check the words
-when you have a word down 100%, take it off the wall, put it in a big bag of words