/ Death of a Canon 5D mkiii

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Nadir khan - on 12 Nov 2012
I've been using my 5Diii for around 5 months , previous to this my 5Dii had seen all the usual abuse of dirt , snow , ice , rain , mud etc and had never failed me . I expected the mkiii to be better than its predecessor in the weathger sealing side of things but no . While up in scotland shooting some kayaking the camera well and truly died . it was raining but nothing crazy and there was some spray coming of the river but again , nothing the mkii hadn't been through and come out unscathed . In fact , when I was descending of the Sudgrat this year , the mkii got so wet in the case that there was water in all the electrical ports and it didn't flinch . So when the mkiii just refused to switch on 'Error 20' on the screen I didn't have a good feeling about it . I'm pissed of to say the least , it goes into the canon repairs to see whats happened but it has left me feeling uneasy about how much abuse it can really take , or is it just a one off and I was just unlucky . Any thoughts /experiences ?

some images before the camera died

http://www.nadirkhanphotography.co.uk/image/510

http://www.nadirkhanphotography.co.uk/image/509

( anyone spot the pat metheney nod ) ?
Alyson - on 12 Nov 2012
In reply to Nadir khan: I've no experience of that camera but I have some experience of kayaking and that second pic scares the pants off me!

Sorry I can't be more help but great work.
Nadir khan - on 12 Nov 2012
In reply to Alyson: Thanks Alyson , next time I'm up there the guys have offered me a boat and all the kit to paddle with them < the last time I did any serious white water was 8 years ago and prior to that I was a Senior Instructor but that was over 20 years ago , so going to get back on the river and get my roll bomb proof again , yeeks !
CraigB - on 12 Nov 2012
In reply to Nadir khan:

As Falls Wichita...