UKC

Education is 2nd Best

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Steve Perry 28 Nov 2012
In Europe!! and 6th best in the World. USA is 17th.

I thought our famous schools, colleges and universitys may have topped the charts but maybe 6th is good?

http://uk.lifestyle.yahoo.com/uk-education-comes-sixth-global-league-table-...
In reply to Steve Perry:

As a teacher I am incredibly surprised by this as sixth in the world is much better than I would have expected.
If this table is a true measure of educational standards then I pity those that are lower than us.
Removed User 28 Nov 2012
In reply to Steve Perry:

"The study by Pearson concludes that having a culture that is supportive of learning is vitally important to educational success."

No shit Sherlock!
In reply to Steve Perry:

bump
 Chris the Tall 28 Nov 2012
In reply to Steve Perry:
Report on the news last night seemed to claim that 50% of British schools are below average....
OP Steve Perry 28 Nov 2012
In reply to Chris the Tall: World Average?
 Alyson 28 Nov 2012
In reply to Chris the Tall:
> (In reply to Steve Perry)
> Report on the news last night seemed to claim that 50% of British schools are below average....

And 50% above average? Meaning the average is in fact right in the middle???! Who would have guessed?
 ripper 28 Nov 2012
In reply to Steve Perry: Interesting to see there's no France (or any Euro country anywhere south of Switzerland) in the top 20.
 timjones 28 Nov 2012
In reply to Christheclimber:
> (In reply to Steve Perry)
>
> bump

If thats the contribution that we can expect from a teacher it's hardly surprising that we missed out on the number one slot!

Are the kids on holiday? If not why aren't you in the classroom?
 BigBrother 28 Nov 2012