UKC

hkw many screwgates for a trad rack

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 wjcdean 09 Dec 2012
Hiyo,i'm relatively new to trad climbing and am slowly building up my rack, I was his wondering how many screwgates you carry? It seems to me that worst case scenario you'd have 4 anchor points connected by 2 slings to give 2 main points to tie into. This would require 6 screwgates, but from looking online people never seem to advise carrying that many. Just wondering what peoples opinions were on here

Cheers
Will
 Muel 09 Dec 2012
In reply to wjcdean:

I just carry 1, and then just tie the anchor with the rope. Works fine for single pitch routes.

I tend to build my anchor like this:

1. Top out.

2. Place 2/3 pieces of gear.

3. Leave the rope tied to my harness and just clip to the gear, then back to a clove hitch on my screwgate. Repeat for each piece of gear.

4. Job done.
 neuromancer 09 Dec 2012
In reply to wjcdean:

One to clove to, one to use as autoblock in my reverso, one/two to connect me to the/an anchor, fifteen for any possible SPA'er watching.
 jimtitt 09 Dec 2012
In reply to wjcdean:
Two, one for your belay device and another one.
OP wjcdean 09 Dec 2012
In reply to wjcdean:

Whoa, quick responses, thanks! Just to clarify, I have 2 hms, 1 to belay from and 1 to clove hitch to when anchoring. But I was taught to always use screwgates on anchor points, so if you've got 3 nut anchors, you'd put a screwgate through each of those and tie in in the usual way with clove hitches on an hms on the rope loop. but I was also taught that where possible you should connect anchor points with slings to a main point,which would also then need another screwgate.

Or am I way off here?
 Edradour 09 Dec 2012
In reply to wjcdean:

I carry loads. With modern technology they are virtually the same weight as snap gates and far more versatile. Apart from quickdraws and for racking my gear I don't really own any snap gates.