/ Hot aches - do you get tougher or weaker?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Daniel Heath - on 13 Dec 2012
If you expose your hands to the cold on a regular basis do you make them tougher or more susceptible to the cold in the future?

GridNorth - on 13 Dec 2012
In reply to Daniel Heath: Definitely tougher. Many years ago I was a telephone engineer and had to climb poles in all sorts of weather. At that time I seemd to be less susceptable to the cold in general and not just my hands. After I had worked in an office for a few years there was a noticable difference.
Robert Durran - on 13 Dec 2012
In reply to Daniel Heath:
> If you expose your hands to the cold on a regular basis do you make them tougher or more susceptible to the cold in the future?

Didn't Hermann Buhl used to wander around in winter with a snowball in each hand to get tougher?

remus - on 13 Dec 2012
In reply to Daniel Heath: I would say tougher.

I can't remember the source, but apparently fishermen have a noticeably improved resistance to frostbite. The theory goes that because their hands are perpetually cold, their bodies limit the natural reaction to shut of the blood supply when their hands start getting cold, thus their hands stay warm for longer.
John Mcshea - on 13 Dec 2012
In reply to GridNorth:
Perhaps I'm an anomaly but I work in an unheated workshop all year round, admittedly with a duvet jacket on, but with bare hands. When I go climbing in the winter however I'm often rocking backwards and forwards with my hands under my armpits whimpering with pain as my friends seem to have little or no problem. I despise the hot aches, they have bought me both tears and vomiting, it is true though that when I have had them in a day my fingers feel very different afterwards and the hot aches don't come back.

Jb.
999thAndy on 13 Dec 2012