UKC

Breaking the 7a barrier

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
andy_1972 13 Jan 2013
Hello all

I am sure I am not the first person to post this but I am looking for advice on how to crack the wall I have hit in my indoor climbing. I have been climbing for a couple of years and can comfortably get up most 6c's but despite numerous attempts I am struggling to crack the 7a barrier. So I am sure many people have had the same issue and I am interested to know how people have managed to tackle this problem.

Any help and advice is greatly appreicated.
 AJM 13 Jan 2013
In reply to andy_1972:

Depends on what happens when you try 7as really. Without knowing why you fail, it's impossible to advise what to do to change failure into success.
 Jon Stewart 13 Jan 2013
In reply to andy_1972:

Struggling on onsight them or climb them at all?
 kwoods 13 Jan 2013
In reply to andy_1972: I'm quite similar. I find all 6c's have bigger holds but usually pumpy. While every 7a I've done is all fingery. It's as if the route setters though it's in the 7's so there should be a certain type of hold compared to 6's. Could be making that up, though

I've personally found it easier to make gains and break new ground by climbing outdoors. I don't really have the motivation to work a hard route across several sessions, that could change the next time I'm in.
 Morgan P 13 Jan 2013
In reply to kwoods: Ask someone working there, they generally have set dates they're going to change each wall so you know your time-limit to do it in, I find that actually helps motivate me as I've got say 2 weeks left to do it