UKC

Website design

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 dsh 26 Jan 2013
My wife's dad is a talented jeweller and I want to make a website to showcase his portfolio.

I have no knowledge of website design but I'm a programmer and I mostly develop software with c# and c++. I can easily learn other languages but I don't have the free time required to learn all the technologies necessary to build something from scratch, is there any software I can use to do this that doesn't have to be aimed at complete beginners but doesn't require the use of lots of different technologies?
 Milesy 26 Jan 2013
In reply to dsh:

You want him to have something looking professional so get the website itself professionally "designed"

I am like you, a programming to trade. When I do a commercial website I tender the graphics and design side out to someone who knows what they are doing professionally in that area. I then build the website up using the graphics and layouts chosen.

Look at 99designs. Give requirements a brief and many people will come up with different designs, of which you can choose the one you like.
 digby 26 Jan 2013
In reply to dsh:

All the webhosts will provide diy tools for making websites. No need to learn new languages or anything; they are aimed at beginners as much as anyone else. Or try wordpress; that's a little more geared to knowledgeable people, and there are a lot of good sites made with it.
You just need to do a bit of googling.
OP dsh 27 Jan 2013
In reply to Milesy:

I should have been clearer, I'm not designing the graphics I'm just building the site. I guess I'm really just looking for people's opinions on the best software package to use for someone who is tech savvy but who's specific knowledge isn't in web development.
 john arran 27 Jan 2013
In reply to dsh: