UKC

wht are women generally weaker than men on steeper ground

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 pork pie girl 30 Jan 2013
i'm no expert and haven't spent alot of time watching and comparing men and womans strength but do you think it's an accurate obswervation that men are stronger on steep routes in comparison ot women?

why is this the case?

sporty women are generally lighter then blokes... we should be able to handle our own body weight better tha we do on climbs...

i can knock out lots of wide grip pull ups... often alot more than the blokes in the gym.. but get me on a steep climb and i really should be stronger.. i do ok but not good enough as far as i'm concerned.

have most strong women climbers had to invest more time into getting stronger on steep problems/routes in comparison to strong male climbers?

what muscles are involved in climbing steeper routes... is it all aboiut back and biceps .. as well as finger strength...

why do women have less power? do women have less fast twitch muscle fibres in comparison to men? or is that irrelevant?

Camm 30 Jan 2013
In reply to pork pie girl:
Women may be lighter but men have a lower body fat percentage, so more muscle rather than fat.

Also eating lots of pork pies wont help
 mrchewy 30 Jan 2013
In reply to pork pie girl: Is it all about power? What about the difference in hip shape and movement? Maybe that effects things when it's steep.
OP pork pie girl 30 Jan 2013
In reply to danrock101:

i can't even face pork pies .. they're only good for longwinter routes
 Brass Nipples 30 Jan 2013

Frozen Pork pies also make good chock stones on winter routes
In reply to mrchewy:

as in big pear hips? what about athletically built women who are straight up and down?
In reply to A Game of Chance: bloody hell.. good idea!
 Gone 30 Jan 2013
> (In reply to mrchewy)
> what about athletically built women who are straight up and down?