UKC

Going light on Denali's West Buttress

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
I've written a blog with a load of tips for climbing Denali's West Buttress.

I've tried to put in everything that I wish I'd known before I headed out last May.

Take it with a pinch of salt. I've only climbed Denali twice so I am by no means an expert. The blog is just a few observations which I found worked for me. Take from it what you find useful.

Remember there is more than one way to strangle a cat!

http://www.tomripleyclimbing.blogspot.co.uk/2013/03/top-tips-for-going-ligh...

Any questions just ask.

Hope this is helpful.
In reply to Tom Ripley Mountain Guide: useful post. Thanks.
cb294 14 Mar 2013
In reply to Tom Ripley Mountain Guide:

Thanks,

makes we want to switch off my computer and go!

CB
 ericinbristol 14 Mar 2013

Good blog post. And quality blog generally - funny, varied, lots of well captioned pics, informative, not too much route description, certainly not grade obsessed. I like FOMO - Fear of Missing Out. The fact that you are not operating at the highest grades makes it easy to relate to it all. Keep working on the quality of the writing, reflect on what makes it distinctive and highlight that element.
In reply to ericinbristol:
> (In reply to TRip)
>
> The fact that you are not operating at the highest grades makes it easy to relate to it all.

Thanks for the feedback. It's good to know someone reads it!

I'm thinking about doing semi-regular gear/technique posts. Or maybe an agony aunt sort of thing.

Obviously I'll only write from personal expirence.

For example I might write a post on building a rack of wires.
 ericinbristol 14 Mar 2013
>
> I'm thinking about doing semi-regular gear/technique posts. Or maybe an agony aunt sort of thing.
>

Could be good, or not. It's not what you do though that will be the main thing, it is how you do it - as you already know I guess