UKC

A career in management

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 The Lemming 20 Apr 2013
For those in management, do you enjoy the job?

And how did you get there, working your way up the company with in-house training or getting a degree?
 Rampikino 20 Apr 2013
In reply to The Lemming:

I'm a senior manager but my career is not in management - it goes with the seniority of the role.

It has good and bad parts - the mass of admin is the bad, and having to divert attention to personal dramas. But the good is to see people develop and achieve under your guidance - very rewarding.
 VS4b 20 Apr 2013
In reply to The Lemming:

Mgt is a pretty broad area - bit like saying do engineers enjoy it...

For me I really like it, but I'm more interested in high level and future focussed work rather than detail about the here and now. Not being able to throw lots of time at one issue might irk some but that's the best bit for me!
 The New NickB 20 Apr 2013
In reply to The Lemming:

I am a senior manager in the organization I work for, but I would hate to think I have a career in management. The management comes with the seniority of the job, I manage things more than I manage people and I prefer it that way.

I have got where I am through doing a degree, post grad, working my way through a number of organizations and a bit of time at business schools along the way.