UKC

Sport Climbing beginners

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
ddu32 02 Jun 2013
Hi guys,

A friend and I have all the gear, and a bit of training, so feel ready to hit the great outdoors. We were wondering whether anyone had any advice on an ideal bit of rock for our first outdoor climb. Somewhere with some nice easy climbs, with good bolts, and not too high! We live in Cardiff, South Wales, so anywhere within 20-30 miles would be great, closer the better!

Cheers for any info,

Dom and Jon
 stoneback 02 Jun 2013
In reply to ddu32:
Well I'm no expert as I climb mainly trad but I've had a few good days sport climbing, have a look at thirty foot wall in tintern quarry, loads of easy short stuff but don't step back too far! Also wyndcliffe quarry has short easy stuff and is very east to get to.
There's probably stuff nearer you but the wye isn't far.
Have fun wherever you go and be safe, bla bla bla....
 CLyus 02 Jun 2013
In reply to ddu32: hmm well your best bet would be asking the staff at the indoor climbing wall you normally go to they should be aware of the local crags. Though you won't be spoiled for choice when it comes to sport climbing in south wales I'm in swansea so i'm not too sure about stuff nearer to cardiff but there are some decent routes on the Gower such as at 'Fox Hole' and 'Watchhouse crag'

my first sport lead was at Watchhouse Crag which was good fun, the bolts were in good condition and most of the older ones at foxhole have been replaced.
 The Ivanator 02 Jun 2013
In reply to ddu32: Gilwern Hill, crag X might be a good place to start
http://www.ukclimbing.com/logbook/crag.php?id=3658
Of the Wye Sport crags Ban-y-Gor is the best although the easier climbs there are fairly spread out, enough at 6a and below to keep you entertained for a day though.
 robthered 02 Jun 2013
In reply to ddu32: