UKC

Women & bumbags

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 maria85 12 Jun 2013
Any girls out there have much experience of running with a bum bag? I need to replace my small running pack as it rubs on my neck. I'm thinking a bum bag could be a good solution but I'm not sure how well they work on a female figure? Guys seem to wear them more on their hips, I figure on a girl though this will ride up to your waist when running. Wearing it around the narrowest point of your waist seems pretty uncomfortable and is quite high up (on me).

Alternatively, any suggestions for small fitting packs (10 litres max) with wide shoulder straps?
 Alyson 12 Jun 2013
In reply to maria85: I have an OMM bumbag but you're quite right - it feels odd to run with for the reasons you give. I have to wear it quite tight round my waist or it bounces all over the place so it's not very comfortable.

I don't have a recommendation for a lightweight running pack as mine rubs my neck too!
 Tall Clare 12 Jun 2013
In reply to maria85:

I'm not a runner but anecdotally from two friends: one runs with a small bumbag round her waist to carry essential medical equipment, and another uses an Osprey Talon 11 pack because it can be fitted closely so doesn't move round much. The latter might be bigger than you need - Camelbak do some very low volume 'backpack' bladder-packs that might work in a similar way.
 tony 12 Jun 2013
In reply to maria85:

My partner runs with a bum bag - one of the OMM ones. She's not a great fan, but from her perspective, it's better than the alternative of a small backpack. It did take a while to get used to it, and she does have to have it quite tight to avoid the bouncing. One of the good features of the OMM bum bags is that they have extended 'wings' on the belt part which help with padding.
 Oceanic 12 Jun 2013
In reply to maria85: