UKC

Photos of Sky and Light coloured stuff too white

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Gazlynn 01 Jul 2013

Hi I'm wondering if anyone can help me please?

I know absolutely nothing about photography and a complete novice.

I recently bought a new point and click camera a Sony dsc-hx10v and over all been very happy with its performance apart from one thing. The clouds and sky or anything very light comes out too light / white

http://www.flickr.com/photos/garethlynn/9182626220

http://www.flickr.com/photos/garethlynn/9115014907

http://www.flickr.com/photos/garethlynn/9182629792

I have it set to easy / intelligent where it does everything for you.

Am I asking too much from this camera or can anyone point me in the right direction / is there a setting I can change somewhere.

Thanks in advance for any help

Gaz
 Caspar 01 Jul 2013
In reply to Gazlynn:

The problem is the high levels of contrast. While you can see everything fine with your eyes, normally achieving the same effect in a camera requires the blending of several photos.

The "intelligent" setting is exposing for the person in the frame, assuming that they're the main focus of the picture. Unfortunately, as you've found out, metering for the person will often blow out the sky, leaving it too bright.

If you're able to use manual settings on that camera then have a play with them. You might be more pleased with the results when you get used to them. Otherwise, think about using other backgrounds with less of a contrast difference.

Hope that helped a little
OP Gazlynn 01 Jul 2013
In reply to Caspar:

Thanks I suppose it's having confidence to mess about with some settings.

I will take it off easy and have a play. It has lots of settings I don't understand but at least it has a slider bar

cheers

Gaz
 Jamie Wakeham 01 Jul 2013