UKC

ticks

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 rhetoric 08 Jul 2013
Just watched the vid on ticks - very good BUT twice it showed ticks being removed in a clockwise direction! I am not an expert but think that removal should be anticlockwise?

Just thought I should flag this up - touch wood not had one!
 Milesy 09 Jul 2013
In reply to rhetoric:

Could you not have replied on that thread then?
 OMR 09 Jul 2013
In reply to rhetoric: Don't think twisting makes any difference. I have a credit card-style tick remover which works well and doesn't involve any twisting. (Apart from me twisting at an awkward angle to reach the little buggers.)
 IPPurewater 09 Jul 2013
In reply to rhetoric: Its clockwise in the Northen hemisphere and anticlockwise in the Southern !
 Euge 09 Jul 2013
In reply to rhetoric: Looking at videos on youtube, they pull straight out and don't twist???

E
 Rob Laird 09 Jul 2013
In reply to rhetoric:

When a vet removed a tick from my dog last month, he just pulled it straight out...
 hokkyokusei 09 Jul 2013
In reply to rhetoric:
> Just watched the vid on ticks - very good BUT twice it showed ticks being removed in a clockwise direction! I am not an expert but think that removal should be anticlockwise?
>

http://www.bada-uk.org/correct-tick-removal
http://www.lymediseaseaction.org.uk/about-ticks/tick-removal/
 xplorer 09 Jul 2013
In reply to rhetoric:

How widespread are they in the Peak District and Lake District?

Never noticed any on myself! And have been walking and climbing for years.
 Flinticus 09 Jul 2013
Has anyone ever put a tick on a leech?
 BarmyAlex118 09 Jul 2013
In reply to rhetoric: The ticks in the lakes tend to only effect areas which have lots of ferns and a high sheep count, that said i have been lucky so far to not catch a single tick and live in deep fear of getting one.