UKC

Tito traversa accident, is the cause a well known thing?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Boocat 16 Jul 2013
Hi, I'm really new to all this and understand that accidents can and do happen. But looking at the really basic simple cause of the kid's tragic death By the rope falsly being attached to the biner by a rubber clip. i am wondering if this is something a competent instructor would tell me or is it something which every climber knows about or would I have to learn these things the hard way?
Bear with me, I'm new!
 JLS 16 Jul 2013
In reply to Boocat:

Fundamentally, it's just common sense. You shouldn't need an expert to tell you that an elastic band isn't going to stop a fall.
 Banned User 77 16 Jul 2013
In reply to JLS: Yeah its just more that your eye automatically ignores things you deem safe from experience... it should be spotted in a check.. but its why the buddy system is needed because our eyes can just flick over things.
 JLS 16 Jul 2013
In reply to Boocat:

Further, to better answer your question... There has been accidents where similar "retainers" have accidently become the load bearers and these have been highlighted and would probably be mentioned where relevant during instruction.
Boocat 16 Jul 2013
In reply to JLS: I understands that it's common sense in hindsight and I know the elastic retainer wouldn't hold weight., but watching that video with the climbers showing the cause I don't think I would have conceived that could even happen, it's like a conjurors sleight of hand trick (hope I spelled 'sleight' correctly).
 JLS 16 Jul 2013
In reply to IainRUK:

Easy to see how you could miss something like that. In a perfect world people wouldn't fcuk up. Must be tough right now for those involved in this particular cluster-fcuk.
 winhill 16 Jul 2013
In reply to Boocat: