UKC

No idea

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
stuart45678 18 Jul 2013
Hi guys, I use to mess about climbing as a kid and have recently started bouldering (about a week ago). I live beside Macduff on the North East coast of Scotland and have discovered a couple of bouldering problems. From what I know there arn't that many boulderers and what not around this area so I was wondering if you would be able to help me determine a rough grade estimation for these little problems ive found. Obviously you would have to climb them to see exactly but if i were to post a video or photo etc of the route do you think you could help? Like I said before though I am extremely new to this so any help would be useful. Id just like to see where I'm at as im completely clueless at this moment in time. Thanks.
 jkarran 18 Jul 2013
In reply to stuart45678:

Climbing in isolation (with or without background experience) it can be hard to work out where you're at in the grand scheme of things, I did it for a fair while and I still have no idea how hard my problems were. In many ways it doesn't matter, you'll get a feel for where your problems fit in relation to each other. I used to think of them in terms of days or weeks of effort, gave me a rough way of sorting them mentally. As you build experience and travel you'll be able to have a go at then ranking your stuff against established problems elsewhere but even that is not easy.

Stick the videos up though, it could be interesting, you never know what you'll get on here.

jk
stuart45678 18 Jul 2013