UKC

Upper Body Training Hypermobility

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
I wonder if anyone can help me. I have been climbing for about 5 years indoor and outdoor. My techique is ok (good feet anyway) and I can climb on sight about a 6C. I say about because a have a major problem with my upper body strength (lack of). I have been known to flash a 7a if it's mainly footwork, but anything that requires a halfway decent pull up - I'm hopeless. My feet come in handy but somtimes you do need to be able to pull yourself up (I cant lock off either). I am constantly trying to train my upper body, but make no progress at all. My Phiso has said that I am Hypermobile and I have "floppy" joints which is preventing me being able to start the motion of the pull up. (If I jump into it I can manage about 3 chin ups, no jump and I can't get my feet off the ground). Please has anyone else had this problem and worked out a training regime for climbing? Any thoughts welcome. Oh I cant do conventional push ups either because my arms bend outwards the wrong way (needless to say I have a strong chest, weak arms).
 Kirill 22 Jul 2013
In reply to bestofbritishjanet:

Perhaps you could try doing chin ups on a low bar, so that at the start your elbows already bent at about 120 degree. With push ups, try doing them with your hands on a bench or a chair rather than on the floor.
 Timmd 22 Jul 2013

I suppose another way of looking at it is your floppy joints are possibly stopping you from loading your elbow tendons too much, and helping to keep you from injury?

At the moment i'd be glad to be able to flash a 7a on footwork. ()

Though it's annoying you might end up seeing it as a blessing when you get to your 70s/80s and are still climbing 7a.

It strikes me that there may not be so much you can do to work around joint hyper-mobility, it's just another take on things...

Mr. Lee 22 Jul 2013