UKC

Starting Winter Alpinism

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
L.W. 22 Jul 2013
Hi,

I've been Alpine climbing in the summer, to Cham, and it just wasn't what I'd hoped it would be. Too many people, too many routes out of condition and and just generally too hot for me. So, winter...
Seems to me that winter is where the action is. Less climbers, better conditions, nice and cold, more adventure...etc.
I've got plenty of winter experience in the UK, up to Scottish IV/V and not averse to suffering on cold belays, long walk-in's and lack of sleep.
Assuming I can Ski, what routes would you recommend for a newbie to the Alps in winter? And what are generally the best months to climb? (Preferably in the Cham area. I get free digs there.)
Any other advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
 jonesieboy 22 Jul 2013
In reply to L.W.:

Did you consider going elsewhere in Summer? I'm just back from a fortnight in the Ecrins - we had superb conditions and the only crowds were on the trade route to Dome de Neige. I have also experienced relative solitude in the Sass Fee area. I know what you mean about the heat though. I dread long glacier descents in the glaring sun!
L.W. 22 Jul 2013
In reply to jonesieboy:

Yes, first thing I considered, but it was't so much the place as the experience in general. The heat was the biggest bother for me. I prefer colder conditions. I also get free digs in Cham which is quite an important factor.
 HarryB 22 Jul 2013
In reply to L.W.:

I've been in april a couple of times, it's not too cold by then and generally pretty stable weather.
 Mr. Lee 22 Jul 2013
In reply to L.W.: