UKC

Chamonix Advice

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Theo Moore 25 Jul 2013
I'm going to Chamonix at the start of September with my University Mountaineering Club for 10 days and would like some advice on what I'll be able to do.

There may be a couple of people that are more experienced mountaineers that myself but I'm not sure what their plans are so I'm going to assume that the experience of the group is less than mine.

I have been to Chamonix and the alps once before and successfully summitted Mt Blanc - this trip included some other peaks such as the Weissmeiss as part of a group. From this, and some time spent in Scotland in Winter I'm what I guess you'd call a 'competent second' - I know how to use crampons, an ice axe (and climbing axes), I know how to tie in and move together on a rope and I've got the kit. I'm happy to lead a group in summer conditions (ML training course) but I have never led a group in winter. I'm not experienced with winter navigation, nor would I know what to do if someone fell down a crevasse.
So, this is my problem - whilst I'm in Cham I want to be doing Alpine stuff but I'm not confident in my ability to lead anything with dangers such as crevasses whilst being responsible for a group (2 people +). What would more experienced people recommend? I'm happy to watch some dvds, read some books (which I have) and practice crevasse rescue and similar things.
Will the conditions at the start of September permit much Alpine walking/climbing or am I worrying about something that won't be available anyway?

Also, I've heard that there's decent Sport climbing in the Chamonix valley, which I'm keen to do, although whilst I'm in the alps I'd like to be doing Alpine stuff - I have lead E3s altho I haven't done much outdoor sport. Is the sport climbing there a worthwhile alternative to the Alpine stuff?

Thanks for the help,

Theo.
 LastBoyScout 25 Jul 2013
In reply to hstmoore: