UKC

End to End for a complete beginner?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 jack_44 29 Jul 2013
Hi all, after a few beers me and a friend somehow thought it would be a great idea to cycle from Land's End to John O' Groats. Neither of us are cyclists, I mean I don't even have a bike!! Thinking of doing it next summer. I know its a broad question, but can anyone offer any advice. I am very tight up with money. Looking at spending around £300 on a bike. Just wondering if anyone can help with any information on bikes, training, how difficult it will be etc. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 alanw 29 Jul 2013
In reply to jack_44: Having just completed LEJOG a couple of weeks ago I guess I can offer some advice. How hard it is depends on how long you take and what the weather conditions are like. We took 2 weeks in great conditions so it really wasn't that hard at all - do it in a week with a head wind and I'd imagine it's a different ball game all together.

Also depends on whether you're on your own or supported and if you plan to camp/hostel/b&b. I suspect given you're tight with money it'll probably be unsupported camping. If this is the case it will mean carrying a lot of stuff. This will slow you down and also mean a lot more strain on the bike. You might get a suitable bike for £300 but if you could stretch a bit you'd get one that's a lot more likely to survive the trip.

Other than that, a bit of training and just time/miles on a bike (especially on hills) between now and next summer should be fine. We met a few B&B owners who told us that they regularly get people in their seventies doing it so you should be fine.

Probably a lot more I could say but generally it's a great ride and highly recommended.
 dale1968 29 Jul 2013