UKC

10 Minute Belaying Induction??

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Flying Spaghetti Monster 12 Aug 2013
Went climbing indoors with couple of friends, and friends of friends this weekend.

One of them reckoned he knew how to belay because he had done a '10 minute induction' at wall up north (who shall remain nameless) They had spent 10 minutes showing him and his mates how to belay then left them to it on the roped walls.

That was two months ago. This weekend he couldn't remember how to tie a figure of eight, thread a belay plate or actually belay. Needless to say I didn't climb with them.

Is it me or is there something funamentally wrong with people thinking that a 10 minute induction is enough experience for a total novice to be let loose in climbing wall land?
 Jamie B 12 Aug 2013
In reply to Flying Spaghetti Monster:

> Is it me or is there something fundamentally wrong with people thinking that a 10 minute induction is enough experience for a total novice to be let loose in climbing wall land?

You really need to ask? Sounds a bit dubious to me.

The Norris 12 Aug 2013
In reply to Flying Spaghetti Monster:

Perhaps he was just shown how to pull the rope through a gri gri?

Regardless, sounds a pretty short sighted way of teaching basic rope safety.