UKC

Favourite climbs

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Removed User 17 Sep 2013
I'm just back from Nice after cycling there from Geneva. While I'm not new to road cycling I am relatively new to Alpine scale climbs and got the bug after a laden tour of the Pyrenees a couple of years ago and a roadie holiday last year to the Maurienne valley. There is something profoundly rewarding about cycling up long steady inclines. So what are your favourite climbs?

Mine are so far:

Col du Galibier from Valloire, becasue it's the Galibier and it is simply magnificent.
Col d'Iseran from Val d'Isere, for similar reasons and it's not so taxing that you can't take in the unfolding scenery around you.
Col de la Cayolle from Barcelonette, easy angled and utterly beautiful, reminded me of the eastern Pyrenees a bit
Col du Pre from Areche, because it's quiet and the view that suddenly appears at the top is gobsmacking.
Col du Portalet from Laruns, long, steady and ever-developing scenery.

Ones I've descended and want to climb:

Cormet de Roselend from Bourg. Stunningly beautiful ride down so it's got to be done up the way so I can take in the scenery instead concentrating on staying on the road.
Col d'Aubisque from Laruns
Col d'Aravis from Flumet
Col de Rousset from Die, for all the hairpins
Col du Tourmalet, both sides, as we did it from Ste Marie in torrential rain and saw nothing.
Col de la Croix de fer from St Jean. descended it twice, totally stunning.

Over to the UKC velogrimpeurs for more suggestions to put in the to-do book:
 Guy 17 Sep 2013
In reply to Removed User:

St Gotthard from Airolo is just superb. The pave is not to harsh and just adds to the feeling of riding a classic old road.

Grosse Scheiddegg from Meiringen is beautiful with some tough sections that last long enough but not too long! Unfortunately when we rode this a couple of weeks ago it was raining and foggy so we missed the views of the Wetterhorn and Eiger.