UKC

Do British 7+ technical moves exist?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 aln 28 Sep 2013
How technical can moves get? Standard moves, reach pull stand up. Then side pull lay back, rockover, Gaston Egyptian so on. But it seems to me from my vast experience of never climbing anything harder than 6b that in the higher tech grades it stops being about technique and more about how strong you are.
 Sl@te Head 28 Sep 2013
In reply to aln: Some very technical moves on slabs in the (British Tech grade) 7's, where technique is far more important than strength.
OP aln 28 Sep 2013
In reply to Sl@te Head: In what way? What are those techniques?
 Sl@te Head 28 Sep 2013
In reply to aln: I'm no expert but have climbed The Medium on the Slate which has a tech 7a move and have also climbed all the moves on The Very big and the Very Small which has two 7a moves.

I'm not sure how to begin describing those moves other than to say a lot of problem solving, lateral thinking and also some very subtle body movements. I guess you also have to trust your feet on very miniscule edges and be able to crimp on razors.
 Sl@te Head 28 Sep 2013
In reply to aln: Forgot to mention accuracy / precision and timing...and lots of patience.
OP aln 28 Sep 2013
In reply to Sl@te Head:
> (In reply to aln)
> 4
> I'm not sure how to begin describing those moves other than to say a lot of problem solving, lateral thinking and also some very subtle body movements. I guess you also have to trust your feet on very miniscule edges and be able to crimp on razors.

I get the former part of your post but doesn't the latter come down to strength again?
 MJ 28 Sep 2013
In reply to aln:

Ben Moon: "Technique is no substitute for power".
OP aln 28 Sep 2013
In reply to MJ:
> (In reply to aln)
>
> Ben Moon: "Technique is no substitute for power".

From Hard Grit? He was one of the fannybaws who started using the word power instead of strength.
 smithaldo 28 Sep 2013