UKC

Ice pick steel composition.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 George Fisher 08 Oct 2013
Does anybody know what grade of steel technical ice axe picks are made from. T or B rated. Would bulldogs and similar be the same stuff?

Thanks
OP George Fisher 08 Oct 2013
In reply to George Fisher:

Little bump for the evening metallurgists.
 AlanLittle 09 Oct 2013

If anybody (who doesn't work for an ice axe manufacturer) knows, then it's Dane at Cold Thistle:

http://coldthistle.blogspot.de/2011/08/crampon-durability-stainless-or.html
 jimtitt 09 Oct 2013
One of the 41 series one would expect since they are mostly chrome-molybdenum steel. I´d imagine that the exact grade and the heat treatment is what makes the difference between crap and quality gear so nobody will tell you!
 David Ponting 09 Oct 2013
In reply to jimtitt: I was about to jump in and point this out as well...

I'm a chemist, not a metallurgist, but I did do a couple of years of materials science as part of my undergrad, and one of the things that stuck in my mind was the (probably simplified) steel phase diagram that we had to learn and the amazing number of things that you can do with it. It was regularly hammered (excuse the pun) into use that the processing was far more important than the original composition, which was a confusing thought for a chemist!

To a certain degree, if the OP is asking because he wants to make his own, then presumably using "standard" processes of forging, quenching & tempering that will give some strength, just not equal to using the commercially-optimised conditions...
 KellyKettle 09 Oct 2013
In reply to David Ponting:
> To a certain degree, if the OP is asking because he wants to make his own, then presumably using "standard" processes of forging, quenching & tempering that will give some strength, just not equal to using the commercially-optimised conditions...