UKC

Photographer/makeup artist contracts

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Mita 14 Oct 2013
I know some of you might not of ventured your photographic work towards fashion but I recently have worked with a photographer who was a climber and although his photographic work was mostly landscapes/urban scenes, he asked me to do some fashion shoots (I'm a freelance makeup artist). I organised the shoots using my venue, my models and my makeup ideas and I invited him to come take the pictures... None of us got paid for the shoots as it was meant to be a portfolio building shoot...

I didn't get a choice to see the first shoot pictures prior to him putting them up on his website, so on the second shoot I asked to see the pictures before hand, which I thought was fair but was told in an email after the shoot to 'F*CK OFF' and I have now been blocked off FB...

I am proper sure that this is not the normal behaviour of a working professional and therefore can only assume that he had ulterior motives to use the pictures and not advise me if he did and therefore not having to pay myself nor the model if he sold any images...

It now looks like I will have to draw up a contract for any further shoots to protect all parties involved with the shoot...

What Photographer release forms do you use that protect yourselves?? As the MUA release form I was sent was pretty much a copy and paste off the internet...

I muchly appreciate your comments... :0)

london_huddy 14 Oct 2013
In reply to Mita:

Sorry to hear about this.

Even when I did some non-chargeable shoots with other professionals (production/lighting design in my case), I still had contracts in place with all concerned, as well as model releases and 3rd party and professional indemnity insurance.

Contracts are probably the most important thing, I don't mind the money it cost me to have a good solicitor to sort them out for me (copy and paste jobs really won't work when you actually need them).