UKC

school ski trips

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 rogersavery 17 Oct 2013
Has anyone here ever sent there child on a school organised ski trip?

If so was it during term time or during school holidays?

I am asking to try and work out if a ski trip should be classed as a holiday or part of the physical education for the child - this relates to the utterly silly Education (Pupil Registration) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2013
In reply to rogersavery:

Always during February half term holiday at my school.
aligibb 17 Oct 2013
In reply to rogersavery:
I've taught quite a few kids on school ski trips (I'm an instructor in the Alps) and we have a lot that come out through the winter. I've had a assess a fair few of them as they were using skiing as one of the sports for their PE GCSE, AS or A level (or whatever they are called now I can never remember)
So I reckon that could definitely be made as part of their education. We always include some geography too - glacial valleys and avalanches etc...
 Carolyn 17 Oct 2013
In reply to rogersavery:

Not direct experience, but I know the local schools definitely organise ski trips in term time. The secondary one also refused to authorise (last year, when they still had the option) family ski trips in the same week.....
 Luke90 17 Oct 2013
In reply to Carolyn:
> Not direct experience, but I know the local schools definitely organise ski trips in term time. The secondary one also refused to authorise (last year, when they still had the option) family ski trips in the same week.....