UKC

How/where to find cheap climbing shoes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Chilli Bee 22 Oct 2013
Hey guys,

I'd like to start bouldering but I'm on a tight budget at the moment. Is there anywhere in London, or UK in general, where I can find cheaper shoes? (Not used please).

Thanks
 Sl@te Head 22 Oct 2013
In reply to Chilli Bee:

http://www.decathlon.co.uk/F-50625-climbing-shoes

But remember 'buy cheap buy twice' and it's always worth getting to know and supporting your local climbing shop.
Chilli Bee 22 Oct 2013
In reply to Sl@te Head:

Thanks, I might save up and delay my climbing 'adventures' for a few months if I can't find something reasonably priced.
 Kieran_John 22 Oct 2013
In reply to Chilli Bee:

has anyone tried those £30 boots? I'm thinking they might be good enough to keep in my garage for my woodie.
 GrahamD 22 Oct 2013
In reply to Sl@te Head:

In fairness, though, if the OP is a complete beginner then the toes of the first pair of boots will wear out in no time no matter how much you pay.
Chilli Bee 22 Oct 2013
In reply to GrahamD:

What do you mean by 'no time'?
And yes, I'm a complete beginner.
 Alun 22 Oct 2013
In reply to Chilli Bee:
I buy decathlon shoes for training purposes, I particularly like the slippers. They are fine, pretty comfy, hardwearing, and do the job.

The main downside is that the rubber is noticeably less grippy than the stuff you'll find on more expensive shoes. But you gets what you pays for. As a beginner shoe, or an indoor shoe for anybody, I think they're fine.
 GrahamD 22 Oct 2013
In reply to Chilli Bee:

> What do you mean by 'no time'?

That all depends on how naturally good your footwork is and how often you climb, of course, but I've seen beginners wear out their toes in 6 months or so where you might expect to get 2 years, all due to imprecise footwork.

Being soft rubber, shoes aren't very tolerant of being dragged across the wall / rock
 Lukeva 22 Oct 2013