UKC

Alternatives to MS Outlook and Thunderbird

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Removed User 29 Oct 2013
I've been using Thunderbird for years after abandoning Outlook in disgust but the lack of a decent calendar facility on TB is starting to be a pain, Lightning doesn't really cut the mustard.

Are there any other email clients out there that are worth considering?
 icnoble 29 Oct 2013
In reply to Removed User: gmail
 GridNorth 29 Oct 2013
In reply to Removed User: Gmail is not really an email client it's on on-line service. Alternatives I'm aware of are:
Opera
Dreammail
iScribe
Postbox
Evolution

I have no personal experience using any of them however so can't comment of features.
Removed User 29 Oct 2013
In reply to Removed User: What's wrong with Outlook? One of the better bits of MS software I reckon.
 BigBrother 29 Oct 2013
In reply to Removed User: Opera never had a calendar and the email client is now separate to the browser as they are rewriting Opera to be a Chrome clone.

Having been an Opera user for years I am having to find alternatives for its features and gradually swap all my data over. Haven't looked into email clients yet.
 Jonny2vests 29 Oct 2013
In reply to GridNorth:
> (In reply to Eric9Points) Gmail is not really an email client it's on on-line service. Alternatives I'm aware of are:

Well, its an online email client. If you don't need to store emails locally, then why do anything else?
Removed User 30 Oct 2013
In reply to Removed User:
> (In reply to Eric9Points) What's wrong with Outlook? One of the better bits of MS software I reckon.

Perhaps. It's seven or eight years since I moved to TB so I don't remember precisely why it sucked the life out of me at the time. However the reason for changing over was that it couldn't handle an inbox bigger than about 1 or 1.5 Gb. It just stopped working while TB seems to be able to handle much bigger inboxes.