UKC

which compass app?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Newbuild100 13 Nov 2013
Im new to these ere modern mobile fone thingys,but can anyone tell me what app to download that has a decent usuable compass on it plse.(one that could be used perhaps to replace a proper compass should the need arise, ie, used to navigate in thick cloud)

Cheers all
 drolex 13 Nov 2013
In reply to Newbuild100: Short answer: none.

Either your smartphone has the right sensor (magnetometer) and in this case it should have an integrated compass app. If it doesn't have such an app, any will do.

The problem is when you don't have a magnetometer, compass apps usually try to use other phone sensors (mainly GPS) but these use various tricks to guess your orientation e.g. using movement. Unfortunately you can't really trust them then (basically it works as long as you walk at a constant speed in a constant direction)
 Billhook 13 Nov 2013
In reply to Newbuild100:

A smaller normal compass as a spare does me rather than relying on something with a battery and the limitations mentioned.
 Katie86 13 Nov 2013
In reply to Newbuild100:

Nothing can replace a normal compass. Just get a spare compass.
 Only a hill 13 Nov 2013
In reply to Newbuild100:

In my opinion the old "smartphones are unsuitable for use in the hills" view is unimaginative, ignorant, and narrow - minded. It's perfectly possible to navigate with a smartphone if you apply some common sense: use a waterproof and shockproof case, carry a backup power source, and obviously a real map and compass along with the necessary skills. There really is no good reason not to use a smartphone as your primary navigation system if you can back it up with traditional navigation skills.

Yes relying on smartphones for navigation can get you into trouble of you're an idiot, but it's perfectly possible to get yourself into just as much trouble if you don't know how to use traditional map and compass as well.