UKC

Physics Question : Electric Charge

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 lowersharpnose 28 Nov 2013
I was thinking about electric charge and realised I did not know the answers to some very basic questions.

Firstly, why are there two types of charge? I assume at some level it boils down to maths.

Secondly, why do opposite charges attract one another and like charges repel one another?

Gravity appears to have only one type of charge and these (like) charges attract.

FWIW, I have a degree in physics.

cp123 28 Nov 2013
In reply to lowersharpnose:

Why do magnets not exist as monopoles?

How come inertial mass and gravitational mass are the same?

why does the speed of light not vary in inertial frames?

I think these questions and yours stop being physics and move into philosophy.
 Oujmik 28 Nov 2013

Interesting question... the lack of apparent symmetry between electric charge (which can be negative or postive) and mass (which can only be positive as far as we know) is the kind of things which might be perturbing if you look for symmetry in things, which physicists generally do.

The question of attraction and repulsion is a fairly simply one (well, kind of), any charged object produces an electric field (which if you like you can think of as being mediated by the exchange of photons, or you can just think of as a mathematical construct). The existence of these fields means that like-charge particles reduce their total potential energy by moving apart and opposite-charge particles do so by moving apart, therefore they do so.
In reply to Oujmik:

How does an exchange of photons between two unlike charges bring them closer together?

It is easier to see photon exchange as mechanism for repulsion.

This is hard to grasp.
 MikeSP 28 Nov 2013

Interesting question, it's made my head hurt.
As to why there are two charges, I don't know, something to do with quarks?