UKC

Telemark Mountaineering

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 trystan 13 Dec 2013
Hey people,
I'm interested to know what other people use and recommend. I need some good quality lightweight crampons to fit my T2 scarpa telemark boots and also what ski crampons are other people using for the tele set ups?
 Doug 13 Dec 2013
In reply to trystan:

I've been using Grivel 2F crampons for several years - they work well but not really lightweight & I've been sorely tempted by some of the lighter models.

Have used many different ski crampons over the years, including the Ski'Alp fixed and the ski crampons available for 7TM bindings, they all seem to work - what bindings are you using? may help answer your question.
johnj 13 Dec 2013
In reply to trystan:

The best crampon fit I ever got on telemark boots were the old fashioned strap on type, and I never could get any thing with a clip on type to stay on the boot due to the flex in the sole.

Ski crampon I never got anything to fit when it got that slippy I just took the skis off and walked.

The last time I used this gear was 1997 though, so I'd hope someone has come up with some solutions by now.
 TobyA 13 Dec 2013
In reply to trystan:

Unless you have NTN boots then crampons are destined to fit really badly on teleboots. I've come to the conclusion that you need the front points to protrude out from under the duckbill which puts them way too far in front of your toes to do any real climbing in them, but makes cramponing up hard snow acceptably ok if far from "good". I just use my G12s with newmatic bindings. The front posts happen to just be about the same width as my boots duckbill so hold the front of the crampon level with the front of the boot, with front points protruding properly. It looks really stupid but works ok.