UKC

Low Grade Multi-Pitch Advise

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 MarkyMark_7 06 Jan 2014
Hiya,
I’ve been climbing for a few years & chalked off a couple of low grade multi-pitch routes down Winter Leap towards the end of the summer last year. We’re looking for a good destination in Europe for a week’s holiday, Low grade Multi-pitch is what we are looking for (6a+ max) just to chalk up some more experience.
The Verdon Gorge South of France looks good due to grade range & height range however it’s limestone & from experience on sport routes can be polished. Has anybody been last year what’s the condition of the rock or can anyone recommend a good location maybe in the Alps?
 Jon Stewart 06 Jan 2014
In reply to MarkyMark_7:

If you like slabs, Ailefroide is pretty awesome. Not been to Verdon but I believe it's a place to go when you're experienced and confident. Reputation is for very stiff grades and scary, committing routes with several miles between bolts.

I went to Paklenica, Croatia when I was quite new to climbing and enjoyed it. Again the grades were stiff, for 6a+ you'd want to be leading E2.
 Skyfall 06 Jan 2014
In reply to MarkyMark_7:
The Verdon Gorge is mostly quite serious - largely because you need to be able to climb out of the gorge and can't simply abseil off it all goes pear shaped.

If you like the S of France, then maybe have a look at some of the stuff around Buis in Provence. There's some good multi-pitch stuff at St Julien and the Dentelles for example. There is a good Rockfax guide to the area (Haute Provence).

Of course, that would be fine in the shoulder seasons but excruciatingly hot mid summer. Then you really would be best off looking to higher altitudes in the alps. Have a look at the multi-pitch stuff around Ailefroide. There are frequent threads on UKC about this place so search on it.Tons of easy'ish long granite slab climbs in a beautiful location.