UKC

Scotland's last glacier

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Only a hill 21 Jan 2014
Looks like glaciers existed in the Cairngorms during the little ice age, possibly until the late 18th century:

http://www.scotsman.com/news/education/site-of-scotland-s-last-glacier-disc...

This is very exciting, and as the author of a new novel partly about this very subject it's nice to see I was (almost) right Professor Forbes would be proud!
In reply to Only a hill:

You could at least have linked to us, we've got better pictures! http://www.ukhillwalking.com/news/item.php?id=68660
OP Only a hill 21 Jan 2014
In reply to Dan Bailey - UKHillwalking.com:

Sorry, didn't notice that one! Great shot of the skier there.
 Doug 21 Jan 2014
In reply to Only a hill:

Thanks for the mention

I've not read Martin's paper (copy on the way to the printer as I type) but can remember from back when I was an undergrad that it was thought there may have been glaciers in the Northern Corries in the little Ice Age (hence the name of one of the corries which translates as corrie of the snows).

DaveHK 21 Jan 2014
drmarten 21 Jan 2014
In reply to Only a hill:

You may find "Cool Britannia" by Adam Watson and Ian Cameron of some interest. All the facts about lingering snow patches/glacier sites are there! Despite its title it is mainly concerned with Scotland.
Tim Chappell 21 Jan 2014
In reply to Only a hill:

I read somewhere that there was still a glacier in Coire Leis on Ben Nevis till the time of Waterloo.

Do these reports say specifically which Cairngorm corries had glaciers in them? If they do I can't see where. I assume we're talking about the Norries?