UKC

What makes a 3 star climb?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 KaRun 26 Jan 2014
I'm new to climbing and wondering what qualifies as a 3 star route?
 LeeWood 26 Jan 2014
In reply to KariLou:

Sound clean rock with fairly apparent holds, some of which are 'rewarding'. Consistent grade level throughout the length. Natural lines with interesting features. Good protection (trad or bolts well placed). Lack of vegetation. Good scenery.
 crustypunkuk 26 Jan 2014
In reply to LeeWood:

A route that, when you reach the top, you say f*ck yeah, that was amazing. Grade doesn't necessarily matter, the pleasure and/or challenge of climbing it does.
 1poundSOCKS 26 Jan 2014
In reply to LeeWood: I don't necessarily think it has to be consistent, but I do find that I much prefer a route that gives amenable climbing to a good position, then gets hard, is much more rewarding than a route where it's nails to get off the ground, but then it's a bit of a path.

The Ivanator 26 Jan 2014
In reply to KariLou:

One that has moo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-oo-ooves like Jagger.
 LeeWood 27 Jan 2014
In reply to 1poundSOCKS:

agreed; hard moves off ground with high 1st clip - detestable
 JIMBO 27 Jan 2014
In reply to KariLou:

> ...what qualifies as a 3 star route?

A guidebook editor...
 Jonny2vests 27 Jan 2014
In reply to 1poundSOCKS:

> I don't necessarily think it has to be consistent, but I do find that I much prefer a route that gives amenable climbing to a good position, then gets hard, is much more rewarding than a route where it's nails to get off the ground, but then it's a bit of a path.

Yeah, unless you're soloing.
 Jonny2vests 27 Jan 2014
In reply to KariLou:

> I'm new to climbing and wondering what qualifies as a 3 star route?

Discussion in progress here:

http://www.ukclimbing.com/forums/t.php?t=576259&v=1#x7648715
 Tom Valentine 27 Jan 2014
In reply to LeeWood:

Plenty of 3 star routes about with poor/minimal protection.
 Ramblin dave 27 Jan 2014