UKC

Ski destination for inexperienced skiers at Christmas?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Reach>Talent 27 Jan 2014
If you were looking for a ski destination suitable for a total novice for Christmas-New Year where would you look at? I'm looking for as near to dead certain conditions as possible as I wouldn't be popular if it turned into an ice/slush resort

Is Canada a good option?
 John Ww 27 Jan 2014
In reply to Reach>Talent:

Somewhere with a glacier - Pitztal, Hintertux, Solden, Kaprun (Kitzsteinhorn), etc.

Given their nature, you'll find plenty of blues and reds rather than blacks, which makes them more novice-orientated.

HTH, JW
 GridNorth 27 Jan 2014

The best place I have been to which I would consider to be the most suitable for novices is Andorra. Not only is it relatively tame it's also cheap.
 Cuthbert 27 Jan 2014

Canada is a bad option is it's a long way away and expensive all in.

Tignes, Val d'Isere, La Plagne, Les Arcs etc are all fine for what you want. Hintertux is also good/
 Paul Bowen 27 Jan 2014

http://www.ledevoluy.com/hiver/fr/infos/en-direct-du-devoluy/webcams.html

this is down the road from me, it's about an hour and 50 mins from Grenoble Airport
It's ideal for novices,it was fairly quiet this Christmas and most of the runs where open given the warm start to the season, a day pass was €33 not sure what a week pass is but less than some of the big resorts, deals are available,
 liz j 27 Jan 2014
In reply to GridNorth:

> The best place I have been to which I would consider to be the most suitable for novices is Andorra. Not only is it relatively tame it's also cheap.
If you avoid Pas de la Casa that is. The place is so busy, and the runs are steep and the bars are dangerously cheap!! Soldeu would be a better place to stay and is prettier. However, the snow can be non existant.