UKC

Training and weight loss

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Shapeshifter 27 Jan 2014
I've recently started training for my first marathon (have previously done a few halfs) and have upped my weekly distance from about 10 miles (which I've always done for general fitness) to about 25 miles.

Thing is I'm slightly mystified that I don't seem to be losing any weight, but staying constant. I genuinely don't think I've increased my calorie intake (even with more mileage) and if anything maybe a bit less, as I've cut down the booze a bit. The weight loss thing is not that important to me really, I just thought it might be a useful side effect that might help my climbing to be honest.

I'm approaching 50 so I wondered if it might be metabolic? Anyone got any views, apart from I'm kidding myself about the calories.

Thanks.
In reply to chubbs2:

Im no expert, but I would imagine your weight to perhaps increase as the fat turns to muscle. Do you look trimmer?
 Banned User 77 27 Jan 2014
In reply to chubbs2:

obvious reasons are over-compensation, fluid retention from damage or fat> muscle.

I'd just ignore short term weight changes though. My weight fluctuates massively through the day.

But 25 miles per week is around 2500 cals.. maybe 2500-3000 so you should slowly drop if you do keep calories the same.
 dale1968 27 Jan 2014
In reply to chubbs2:

One side effect of training is people tend to be less active generally, as for your bmr it does decrease with age, as does your muscularity, decreasing your calorific needs.
Cutting back your calorie intake further may not help, but eating the same total amount in smaller helpings during the day will boost your metabolic rate, also pushing weights will increase your bmr, as you increase your lean body mass
Drinking alcohol also depresses your testosterone levels, making all the above more difficult
It all depends how focused/bothered you are, your body will respond given the correct diet/training