UKC

Electric shower - advice needed

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 IPPurewater 05 Feb 2014
If you have an electric shower and have upgraded from an 8.5kw one to a 9.5kw or 10.5kw one, have you noticed a marked increase in the volume of water you get at a set temperature ?

Thanks

Ian
 PaulTanton 05 Feb 2014
Hi Ian, a bigger electric shower has a bigger element. To increase the temperature the control restricts the flow. On a cool setting the flow is unrestricted.
An 8.5Kw has to restrict the flow more than a 10.5 to get the same temperature. Simple stuff.
I'm an electrician and not a lover of electric showers, they always feel a bit crap compared to a thermostatic one ( hot and cold input). To get a decent shower you need to spend some money. Mira are the best but more expensive. Stay away from Gainsborough. The shower not the artist. Good luck

whispering nic 05 Feb 2014
In reply to IPPurewater:

Mira sport i seem to recall
 jimjimjim 05 Feb 2014
In reply to whispering nic:
Agreed. Mira sport is the best one I've used/ worked with. Just make sure if you're are upgrading that the cable that serves it is big enough for the power increase.
 Neil Williams 06 Feb 2014
In reply to IPPurewater:
Yes, that will happen (and yes it is noticeable, provided your water pressure is good or it's a pumped shower).

Though that said, nothing[1] beats a combi boiler (giant gas shower, basically). I've never used any electric shower that had anything like as good a flow.

[1] Unless it breaks, then no hot water. Last time that happened to me, though, I just showered at the gym until it was fixed, though that's not really OK for a family.

Neil
Post edited at 08:19
 marsbar 06 Feb 2014
In reply to IPPurewater:

Another vote for Mira.
In reply to IPPurewater:

Don't forget to factor in the upgrade of the wire supplying the power if necessary! cable isn't cheap!
 Wyddfa 06 Feb 2014
In reply to higherclimbingwales: